Join MIC   Interested in Motorcycles?   MIC Downloads   News   Public Land Access 
 Member Login   V Twin   Contact Us 
MIC Home / News
News Releases
Motorcycle Industry Council
Media Relations
(949) 727-4211, ext. 3027

Motorcycle Industry Council Announces Chairman’s Award Recipients
at MIC Communications Symposium, Inroads to the Future X

IRVINE, Calif., Nov. 20, 2008 - The Motorcycle Industry Council today announced the latest recipients of the Chairman’s Award at Inroads to the Future X, the MIC’s annual communications symposium. Now in its third year, the Chairman’s Award series honors groups and individuals who have made special contributions of time and effort to the powersports industry.

“We’re pleased to continue this tradition of honoring dedicated individuals and organizations with the Chairman’s Award,” said Larry Little, MIC chairman and Cycle World vice president and publisher. “Their initiative and efforts have greatly advanced the industry, and will continue to lead it into the future.”

2008 recipients recognized at Inroads X include:

Advanstar Communications Powersports Group was recognized for outstanding leadership in supporting and advancing the industry. Since 1965, Advanstar has served consumers and professionals with a portfolio of publications, websites, and events. Advanstar’s Dealer Expo is the largest North American trade show in the powersports aftermarket sector; Dealernews Magazine is the leading publication for powersports retailers; and the International Motorcycle Show Tour is the largest consumer motorcycle event series in the world, reaching an audience of over 500,000 enthusiasts each year.

Stuart Philip Ross was recognized for outstanding dedication and service as outside legal counsel to the MIC since 1971, when the MIC became his first client. Since that time, Ross has counseled the MIC in connection with some of its most important initiatives including development of the Retail Sales Reporting System and creation of the Motorcycle Industry Council Safety and Education Foundation, which subsequently changed its name to the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. Ross was a founding Trustee of the MSF and has been counsel since its inception in 1973; he also has been counsel to the Specialty Vehicle Institute of America since its inception in 1983. Ross is a senior partner with the law firm of Ross, Dixon & Bell, LLP.

Mel Harris – known for his flamboyant style at events and meetings throughout his 30-plus years in recreational sales and marketing – was recognized for outstanding service to the industry. Harris has served on the MIC Board of Directors and has been instrumental as a member of the DTM Subcommittee (1996-present), and was also an AMA Trustee for 10 years. Harris is currently vice president of motorcycles at American Suzuki Motor Corporation.

Gayle Anderson, a reporter for Los Angeles television station KTLA, was recognized for her outstanding contributions to motorcyclist safety. Anderson not only facilitated numerous prime time features that promoted key safety and training messages, she actively participated in training herself. Anderson has been reporting for the "KTLA Morning News" since 1993 and has become a viewer favorite due to her enthusiastic style of reporting on unique and interesting stories in Southern California.

Past Recipients of the MIC Chairman’s Award:


Michael C. Burgess, M.D., U.S. Congressman and Gabrielle Giffords, U.S. Congresswoman, for Outstanding Leadership and Commitment to Advancing Motorcycling And Motorcycle Safety.

Selvaraj Narayana, for Outstanding Service to the Industry and the MIC Board of Directors.


Mary E. Peters, U.S. Secretary of Transportation, for Outstanding Public Service and Dedication to the Nation’s Transportation System.

Bob Moffit, for Outstanding Leadership in the Development of Partners Standard Protocol.

Russ Ehnes, for Outstanding Leadership and Dedication to Promoting OHV Recreation.

Thomas Crimmins, for Outstanding Service to the Industry on OHV Access Initiatives.

Dana Bell, for Outstanding Dedication and Contribution to Promoting OHV Recreation.

Susan Carpenter, for Outstanding Contributions to Motorcyclist Safety.

Don Brown, for Outstanding Service to the Industry.

Fred Fox, for Outstanding Service to the Industry on the MIC Board of Directors.


Gary Christopher, for Outstanding Service to the Industry as DTM Subcommittee Chairman

Mark Boyer and Robyn McPeters, for Outstanding Service to the Industry in Public Relations.

Pamela Amette, Tom Austin and Paul Vitrano, for Outstanding Service to the Industry.

Jeff Shetler, for Outstanding Service to the Industry on the OE Technical Committee.

Russ O’Daly, Mel Stahl and Tom Yager, for Outstanding Service to the Industry on the SVIA Technical Advisory Panel.

Jack Gray, Pat Murphy and Roger Peterson, for Outstanding Service to the Industry on Partners Standard Protocol.

National 4-H Council, in Recognition of Dedication to ATV Safety.

Located in Irvine, Calif., the Motorcycle Industry Council is a not-for-profit national trade association representing manufacturers and distributors of motorcycles and scooters, parts and accessories for motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles and recreational off-highway vehicles, as well as members of allied trades.

Printable PDF (Left-click to open; right-click to save)

The Motorcycle Industry Council (MIC) is a not-for-profit, national trade association representing manufacturers and distributors of motorcycles, scooters, motorcycle/ATV parts and accessories and members of allied trades, located in Irvine, California.